ENGLISH Football League clubs are starting to publish their retained lists following the end of the regular season.

Sky Bet League One finished a week earlier than the other two divisions, so several clubs have already announced their decisions.

Listed below are all the players released by the 23 teams who competed against Oxford United in the third tier in 2021/22, as well as those who will join them next season.

*Indicates recently-published.

READ MORE: Oxford United confirm release of four players


Accrington Stanley

Released: Lewis Mansell, Ben Pleavin, Stephen Sama, Kevin Spinelli, Luke Stowe.

Returning loanees: Yeboah Amankwah (Manchester City), Marcel Lewis (Union SG), Joel Mumbongo (Burnley).

Contract rejected: Matt Butcher.

Bolton Wanderers

Released: Matty Alexander, Alex Baptiste, Nathan Delfouneso, Liam Edwards, Jay Fitzmartin, Liam Gordon, Reiss Greenidge, Andy Tutte.

Returning loanees: Xavier Amaechi (Hamburg), Marlon Fossey (Fulham), James Trafford (Manchester City).

Contract offered: Adam Senior.

READ MORE: Loanees pay tribute to Oxford United after return to parent clubs

Burton Albion*

Released: Aaron Amadi-Holloway, Michael Bostwick, Oumar Niasse, Luke Redfern, Danny Rowe.

Returning loanees: Harry Chapman (Blackburn Rovers), Matej Kovar (Manchester United), Jacob Maddox (Vitória de Guimarães), Christian Saydee (AFC Bournemouth).

Contract offered: John Brayford, Callum Hawkins, Tom Hewlett, Thierry Latty-Fairweather, Michael Mancienne, Daniel Moore, Jakub Niemczyk, Joe Powell, Ben Radcliffe.

Charlton Athletic*

Released: Chris Gunter, Stephen Henderson, Adam Matthews, Pape Souare, Conor Washington, Ben Watson.

Returning loanees: Mason Burstow (Chelsea), Juan Castillo (Chelsea), Akin Famewo (Norwich City), Nile John (Tottenham Hotspur), Elliot Lee (Luton Town), Jonathan Leko (Birmingham City).

Contract offered: Ben Purrington.

Cambridge United

Released: Wes Hoolahan, Kai McKenzie-Lyle, Tom Dickens.

Returning loanees: Sam Sherring (AFC Bournemouth), Jensen Weir, Lorent Tolaj (both Brighton & Hove Albion).

Contract offered: Liam O’Neil, Adam May, Will Mannion.

Contract rejected: Jack Iredale.


Will Boyle looks set to leave Cheltenham Town this summer Picture: Nigel French/PA Wire

Cheltenham Town*

Released: Charlie Colkett, Scott Flinders, Conor Thomas, Andy Williams.

Returning loanees: Kion Etete (Tottenham Hotspur), Dan Nlundulu (Southampton), Mattie Pollock (Watford), Aaron Ramsey (Aston Villa), Jamie Soule (West Bromwich Albion), Callum Wright (Leicester City).

Transfer listed: Owen Evans.

Contract offered: Dylan Barkers, Ellis Chapman, Zac Guinan, Max Harris, Liam Sercombe.

Contract rejected: Will Boyle.

Crewe Alexandra

Released: Sam Booth, Will Jaaskelainen, Scott Kashket, Luke Murphy, Tyreece Onyeka, Chris Porter, Joe Robbins, Nathan Woodthorpe.

Returning loanees: Ryan Alebiosu (Arsenal), Rekeem Harper (Ipswich Town), Ben Knight (Manchester City).

Contract offered: Travis Johnson.

READ MORE: Joel Cooper leaves Oxford United by mutual consent

Doncaster Rovers

Released: Dan Gardner, AJ Greaves, Lirak Hasani, Branden Horton, Cameron John, Fejiri Okenabirhie, Ed Williams.

Returning loanees: Ethan Galbraith (Manchester United), Ben Jackson (Huddersfield Town), Josh Martin (Norwich City), Mipo Odubeko (West Ham United), Matt Smith (Arsenal).

Contract offered: Aidan Barlow, John Bostock, Bobby Faulkner.

Fleetwood Town

Released: Harrison Biggins, Callum Camps, Kieran O’Hara, Anthony Pilkington.

Returning loanees: Dan Butterworth (Blackburn Rovers), Josh Harrop (Preston North End), Callum Johnson (Portsmouth), Zak Jules (MK Dons).

Contract offered: Danny Andrew.


Gillingham have offered Jack Tucker a new contract Picture: Steve Edmunds


Released: Mustapha Carayol, Aaron Chapman, Ryan Jackson, Harvey Lintott, Danny Lloyd, Christian Maghoma, Vadaine Oliver, Gerald Sithole, Ben Thompson.

Returning loanees: Pontus Dahlberg (Watford), Tom Dickson-Peters (Norwich City), Charlie Kelman (QPR), Conor Masterson (QPR), Dan Phillips (Watford).

Contract offered: Bailey Akehurst, Josh Chambers, Robbie McKenzie, Jack Tucker.

Ipswich Town

Released: Tom Carroll, Tomas Holy, Myles Kenlock, James Norwood.

Unconfirmed: Tawanda Chirewa, Bailey Clements, Kayden Jackson, Brett McGavin, Tyreece Simpson.

Returning loanees: Tyreeq Bakinson (Bristol City), Macauley Bonne (QPR), Bersant Celina (Dijon), Dominic Thompson (Brentford). 


Released: Rhys Bennett, Toumani Diagouraga, Greg Leigh, Jacob Mensah, Freddie Price.

Transfer listed: Jonah Ayunga, Ryan Cooney, Ryan Delaney, Courtney Duffus, Wes McDonald, Ryan McLaughlin, Shane McLoughlin, Anthony O’Connor, Jon Obika, Connor Pye.

Returning loanees: Jacob Bedeau (Burnley), Trevor Carson (Dundee United), Alfie McCalmont (Leeds United), Adam Phillips (Burnley).

Contract offered: Arthur Gnahoua, Adam Smith, Aaron Wildig.


Former Oxford United striker Jon Obika has been transfer-listed by Morecambe Picture: David Fleming 

Plymouth Argyle

Released: Ollie Tomlinson.

Transfer listed: Panutche Camara.

Retired: Luke McCormick.

Returning loanees: Ryan Broom (Peterborough United), Romoney Crichlow (Huddersfield Town), Jordan Garrick (Swansea City), Steven Sessegnon (Fulham).

Shrewsbury Town

Released: Josh Daniels, David Davis, Ethan Ebanks-Landell, Cameron Gregory, Aaron Pierre, Shaun Whalley.

Returning loanees: Tyrese Fornah (Nottingham Forest), Saikou Janneh (Bristol City).

Contract offered: Jaden Bevan.

READ MORE: Karl Robinson draws out two 'perfect XIs' as he plots summer recruitment


Peterborough United

Released: Dai Cornell, Serhat Tasdemir, Kyle Barker.

Transfer listed: Mark Beevers, Ryan Broom, Jorge Grant, Idris Kanu, Christy Pym.


Exeter City*

Released: Nigel Atangana, Colin Daniel, James Dodd, Jordan Dyer, Ellis Johnson, Callum Rowe, Ben Seymour, Jack Veale.

Returning loanees: Padraig Amond (Newport County), Cameron Dawson (Sheffield Wednesday), Kieran Phillips (Huddersfield Town), Offrande Zanzala (Barrow).

Contract offered: Jonathan Grounds.

Forest Green Rovers

Released: Taylor Allen, Vaughn Covil, Opi Edwards, Jack Evans, Luke Hallett, Elliott Whitehouse, Jake Young.

Returning loanees: Jack Aitchison (Barnsley), Kasey McAteer (Leicester City).

Contract offered:  Ebou Adams, Nicky Cadden, Sadou Diallo, Dan Sweeney, Kane Wilson.