THERESA May will carry on as Prime Minister after surviving a vote of no confidence from her own party. 

Her leadership was backed by 200 Tory MPs, while 117 voted against in the crucial ballot last night.

Oxfordshire's Conservative politicians were quick to back the Prime Minister yesterday - except Witney MP and Brexiteer Robert Courts, who still hasn't revealed which way he voted. 

Wantage MP Ed Vaizey once again toured the TV and radio stations this morning in support of Mrs May. 

He said yesterday that he saw a potential leadership contest as 'self indulgent' with Brexit negotiations at such a crucial stage. 

Henley MP John Howell agreed, saying it was 'not the right time' for change. 

After the results were revealed, North Oxfordshire MP Victoria Prentis tweeted to say she was 'extremely pleased' for the Prime Minister who she called an 'extremely resilient woman'.

The politician added that she hoped the UK could now leave the EU with a good deal. 

But Mr Courts, David Cameron's successor as Witney MP, retained his silence on the vote throughout yesterday.

His Twitter feed was dormant as the dramatic events unfolded and he is yet to answer questions from reporters about his views on the Prime Minister's continuing leadership. 

Meanwhile politicians from other parties watched on from the sidelines as they tried to continue parliamentary business amongst the uncertainty. 

Both Layla Moran and Anneliese Dodds had condemned the vote as putting the interests of the Conservative Party before those of the rest of the country. 

Ms Dodds said the Conservatives should 'make way' for Jeremy Corbyn but Ms Moran criticised the Labour leader for failing to attack the Conservatives over their internal divisions during Prime Minister's Questions.