Oxford ended the season on a high note by capturing a glittering cup double on Oxfordshire’s Twenty20 finals day at Aston Rowant.

Having been relegated from Serious Cricket Home Counties Premier League Division 1 the previous day, their successes in the shortest format of the game provided a much-needed boost.

With the Wilf Bennett Trophy in the bag following a victory over Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts in the morning, Oxford added the Bernard Tollett Oxfordshire Cup with a seven-wicket win over hosts Aston Rowant with two balls to spare.

Rowant opted to bat first after winning the toss in the battle for the county’s premier Twenty20 title.

Brad Sutherland trapped former Oxford man Nick Ferraby lbw for nought.

But then Tim Morgan, skippering in the absence of Wesley Morrick, cracked a superb 70 off 54 balls with nine fours.

With Australian Tim Miles making 31, Rowant posted 146-5 as Ian Evans (2-18) and Sutherland (2-20) proved the pick of the Oxford attack.

However, Oxford always had the run chase under control.

Chris Sandbach got them off to a flying start with 18 off 13 balls, before he was adjudged lbw to Miles.

But Jamie Perkin and Stewart Laudat maintained the momentum.

When Perkin fell for 26, Laudat was joined by Ryan Canning in a match-winning stand of 71 off 9.4 overs.

After Laudat fell for 41 off 44 balls, Canning saw Oxford home with an unbeaten 44 off 32 deliveries.


Bernard Tollet Oxfordshire Cup Final: Aston Rowant 146-5 (20 ovs, T Morgan 70, T Miles 31), Oxford 148-3 (19.4 ovs, R Canning 44no, S Laudat 41).

Wilf Bennett Trophy Final: Oxford 141-6 (20 ovs, R Canning 42), Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 104 (18.5 ovs, N Duxon 42).